Tuesday Cook Off ~ Quick and Easy Coffee Cake

Tuesday Cook Off ~ Quick and Easy Coffee Cake

When I said I was going to make coffee cake, my oldest son said he didn’t want to try it because it had coffee in it.   I could not stop laughing because he is so literal all the time.   After I stopped laughing, I said it’s called coffee cake because the cake compliments the coffee.  It’s never a dull moment in this house of boys 🙂  My oldest was still very shocked I was making this because only my husband likes coffee (still can’t choke down a cup).  I told him to just to try the cake and let me know what you think.   Well, can I say it was gone in two days!! Now a couple of pieces went to friends who came over but everyone loved the cake.  My husband even requested that I make it again soon!

Quick and Easy Coffee Cake

Right from the oven!

Quick and Easy Coffee Cake

Recipe from Lil’ Luna

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup oil
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 3 cup flour
  • 3 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup margarine melted

Directions: 

  1. In a large mixing bowl. combine oil, eggs, vanilla and milk together.
  2. In a medium bowl, blend together sugar, flour, baking powder and salt.
  3. Combine egg mixture with flour mixture. Pour half the batter into a 9×13 pan.
  4. In a medium bowl, prepare streusel by combining brown sugar and cinnamon.
  5. Sprinkle half of streusel on top of the batter. Top with remaining batter and then sprinkle the remaining streusel on top.
  6. Drizzle with melted margarine.
  7. Bake, uncovered at 350 for 25-30 minutes. Makes 18-24 servings

Do you have a great recipe you would like to share?  Just email us at Linda@mybabypajamas.com.  Please attach a photo if you can.  If your recipe is chosen, you will win a $25.00 Gift Certificate to our website.   Who doesn’t want free kids pajamas?  Please share this contest/giveaway!

Don’t forget where to find great footie pajamastoddler pajamas and more at My Baby Pajamas.