Tasty Treats - Easy Lemon Cookies

Tasty Treats – Easy Lemon Cookies

At My Baby Pajamas we decided to mix it up a bit.   Instead of doing a weekly Tuesday Cook Off post we decided we would post a recipe when it was a winner.   So for now on we are going to call our dessert post Tasty Treats (thanks to Jeff Fisher) and our dinner recipe post Family Feast.

So this post is a Tasty Treat for sure.  If you love lemon you are going to love these EASY lemon cookies.   My youngest son came home to me last week and asked me why I never made him lemon cookies.   I said I didn’t even know you liked lemon cookies.  Well, then he proceeded to tell me he likes lemonade and Lemonheads so he must like lemon cookies. 🙂  I was a little unsure about making a whole batch of lemon cookies and then my husband and I would be stuck eating them!

So I searched Pinterest for a recipe that didn’t seem too lemony and that was easy too.   I found the perfect winner.   These cookies were so easy to make and the WHOLE family loved them!! This included my older son who doesn’t really like lemon favor.   But he loved them and asked for them in his lunch.

Now I know these cookies are not totally 100% made from scratch but sometimes moms just need an easy way out every once in awhile 🙂

 

Recipe from Gimmesomeoven.com

Yields about 24-30 cookies

Ingredients: 

  • 1 package lemon cake mix
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • juice of half a lemon (about 1 Tbsp.)
  • zest of half a lemon (about 1 tsp.)
  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar for decor (optional)

Directions: 

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).

Pour cake mix into a large bowl. Stir in eggs, oil, lemon juice and zest until well blended. Form dough into small balls (about 1 Tbsp.), and drop into a bowl of confectioners’ sugar. Roll them around until they’re lightly covered. Once sugared, place on a lightly-greased cookie sheet.

Bake for 6 to 9 minutes in the preheated oven. The bottoms will be light brown, and the insides chewy.

**To get a rounder, fluffier cookie, let the dough refrigerate at least 30 minutes. (You can also prepare the sugared balls of dough on the cookie sheet, and just refrigerate the sheet for about ten minutes for a similar effect.)

I hope you enjoy these cookies as much as we did!

