Tuesday Cook Off ~ Skinny Kung Pao Chicken

Tuesday Cook Off ~ Skinny Kung Pao Chicken

Usually Skinny recipes don’t appeal to me.   It’s not that I don’t like them but I try to eat in moderation whether it’s skinny or not.   But my husband was bugging me to make a few skinny recipes.   He’s trying to lose a couple of pounds I think 🙂  I told him if he would stop snacking on pretzels and cookies at night the couple of pounds would come off.   He agreed but still wanted skinny recipes.

Since Kung Pao Chicken is one of his favorite Chinese take out meals I decided to try this recipe I found on Cookinglight.com.   I was a little worried because sometimes the skinny recipes come up a little short on favor.   This one did not.  In fact, next time I think I will add just a little extra crushed red pepper.   The recipe called for 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons and I added 1 teaspoons because the boys.  Everyone loved it!  This recipe is simple to prep before and literally only takes a 15-17 minutes to make after the preparation is done.   We all agreed this one is a keeper!

Skinny Kung Pao Chicken

Yields about 4 to 6 servings (depending on who is serving:) )

Ingredients: 

  • 2 tablespoons dark sesame oil
  • 1 cup chopped onion
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 pound skinless, boneless chicken thighs, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 3/4 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons lower-sodium soy sauce
  • 2 teaspoons cornstarch
  • 1 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon bottled minced ginger
  • 1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons crushed red pepper
  • 1 cup thinly sliced red bell pepper (about 1 large pepper)
  • 1 cup snow peas, trimmed
  • 2 tablespoons chopped unsalted, dry-roasted peanuts

Directions: 

  1.  Heat sesame oil in a large skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion to pan; sauté 3 minutes or until softened. Add garlic; sauté 30 seconds, stirring constantly. Add chicken; sauté 3 minutes or until chicken begins to brown.
  2.  Combine 3/4 cup water and the next 5 ingredients (through crushed red pepper), stirring with a whisk until sugar dissolves. Add water mixture to pan; bring to a boil. Add bell pepper and snow peas to pan; cook for 2 minutes or until vegetables are crisp-tender and sauce thickens. Sprinkle with nuts.

Do you have a great recipe you would like to share?  Just email us at Linda@mybabypajamas.com.  Please attach a photo if you can.  If your recipe is chosen, you will win a $25.00 Gift Certificate to our website.   Who doesn’t want free kids pajamas?  Please share this contest/giveaway!

Don’t forget where to find great footie pajamastoddler pajamas and more at My Baby Pajamas.

