Tuesday Cook Off ~ Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

Tuesday Cook Off ~ Pretzel Chocolate Chip Cookie Bars

I just love the taste of chocolate and salt together.   I have to be honest; at first I didn’t think I would like this combination at all but I love it.  My family loves it also.  In fact, my husband has been doing this combination for years and I always thought it was weird.  He would eat some pretzel sticks and then have pieces of chocolate right after.  I always thought this was strange when we were first married.  We will be married 21 years in February so he has been having this combination for a long time!!  Anyway, when I started to see recipes for pretzels with chocolate I just knew I had to make the recipes for my husband and finally try it too.   Well, I am a huge fan and so are our boys!!

This recipe is simple to make and is absolutely delicious 🙂

I found this recipe on Pinterest by Just a Taste:

Yields: 16 bars

Ingredients:

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups chocolate chips, divided
1 cup crushed salted pretzels, divided
2 teaspoons vegetable oil

Directions: 

Preheat oven at 350 degrees

Using your stand mixer with the whisk attachment, whisk together the melted butter and sugars until smooth.  This should take about 2 minutes.   Whisk in the eggs and vanilla until combined.

Next remove the bowl from the mixer and stir in the flour and the salt until combined.  Next stir in 1 cup of the chocolate chips and 1/2 cup of the crushed pretzels.  Stir just until combined.

Line an 8-inch square pan with parchment paper and stray with cooking spray.   Pour the batter into the pan, smoothing the top and making even.   Sprinkle the remaining 1/2-cup of crushed pretzels on top, pressing lightly into the batter.

Bake for 30 minutes or until you can stick a toothpick into the center and it comes out clean.  Remove the cookie bars from the oven and allow them to cool completely in the pan.  This could take about 20 minutes or more.   Remove the cookies using the parchment paper and lay on the counter.

While the cookie bars are still cooling, melt the last 1/2-cup of chocolate chips in a microwave safe bowl with the vegetable oil.   After the bars are completely cooled, drizzle the melted chocolate over the cookie bars.

I then stuck the bars in the fridge for about 10 minutes to help the chocolate drizzle set.   Then cut the bars into 16 pieces and enjoy!!

Do you have a great recipe you would like to share?  Just email us at Linda@mybabypajamas.com.  Please attach a photo if you can.  If your recipe is chosen, you will win a $25.00 Gift Certificate to our website.   Who doesn’t want free kids pajamas?  Please share this contest/giveaway!

Don’t forget where to find great footie pajamastoddler pajamas and more at My Baby Pajamas.

