Tuesday Cook Off ~ Chocolate Caramel Pretzel Cookies

Tuesday Cook Off ~ Chocolate Caramel Pretzel Cookies

Everywhere I look I see salted caramel everything…is this happening to you?  It’s at Starbucks, in candy at the grocery stores and all over Pinterest!  Well, I decided I wanted to make a cookie with the salted caramel theme.   What better way to get salt than with pretzels and my family loves pretzels!  So I decided to show my boys a picture of the cookies and see if they were interested in me making the cookies.   Of course, they were not!  They said that sounds weird with pretzels in a cookie.   I decided to make the recipe anyway…and boy were the boys glad I did.   They LOVED the cookies!!  I mean really loved the cookies and I see them sneaking one here and there all day 🙂   This recipe is definitely a keeper!

Recipe from: Barbara Bakes Adventures in the Kitchen

Yields about 3 dozen with a standard cookie scoop

Chocolate Caramel Pretzel Cookies

Chocolate Caramel Pretzel Cookies

Chocolate Caramel Pretzel Cookies

Ingredients: 

  • 1 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup natural unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 (11-oz.) bag Caramel Bits
  • 1 cup coarsely chopped White Fudge Covered Pretzels ( I used just plained pretzel sticks)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease baking sheet or line with parchment paper or silicone mat.
  2. In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar until light and fluffy (about 2 to 3 minutes). Add eggs and vanilla and beat another 1 to 2 minutes.
  3. In a separate bowl, combine flour, cocoa, baking soda and salt. Add to butter mixture and mix until thoroughly combined.
  4. Fold in caramel bits and pretzels.
  5. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto cookie sheets and press slightly to flatten.
  6. Bake for 9 to 10 minutes or until set. Allow to cool 5 minutes on cookie sheet before removing to a wire rack to cool completely.

Do you have a great recipe you would like to share?  Just email us at Linda@mybabypajamas.com.  Please attach a photo if you can.  If your recipe is chosen, you will win a $25.00 Gift Certificate to our website :)  Who doesn’t want free kids pajamas?  Please share this contest/giveaway!

Don’t forget where to find great footie pajamastoddler pajamas and more, at My Baby Pajamas.

