10 week Half Marathon Training Guide

In less than three weeks I have another half marathon.   Am I ready?  I hope so.   It’s been really hot in Arizona until about 2 weeks ago.   Running my long runs was hard in the hot weather.   But I have done my best and that is all I can ask of myself. Running is definitely a love of mine and it’s kind of like a small club.  If you meet another runner…you become instant friends.  And meeting another runner is happening more often because the sport of running has definitely grown over the last 10 years.   Which excites me because there are more races popping up everywhere.   Race day is what gets you through the training!  I look forward to race day!   Getting up at the crack of dawn before everyone else and lining up with a ton of other people just like you and crossing that finish line…it doesn’t get better than that 🙂

This blog post came about because of some beginner runners I just met.   They asked me to post my first half marathon-training plan.   I used the Runner’s World Magazine plan for training.   In fact, I still use a lot of it but now add more intervals.

On the rest/crossX train days I either will rest, do yoga at home or walk my dog a couple of miles.   Your body will tell you what to do.  Good luck!

Week Monday Tuesday     Wednesday Thursday Friday  Saturday Sunday
1 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 3 miles 5 Miles
2 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 4 Miles Rest orCrossX 3 miles 5 Miles
3 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 5 Miles2 miles at race pace Rest orCrossX 3 miles 6 Miles
4 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 5 Miles2 milesat racepace Rest orCrossX 3 miles 7 Miles
5 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 4 Miles Rest orCrossX 4 miles 8 Miles
6 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 4 Miles3 miles at racepace Rest orCrossX 3 miles 6 Miles
7 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 6 Miles4 miles at racepace Rest orCrossX 3 miles 10 Miles
8 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 6 Miles4 miles at racepace Rest orCrossX 3 miles 12 Miles
9 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 6 Miles4 miles at racepace Rest orCrossX 3 miles 9 Miles
10 Rest orCrossX 3 Miles Rest orCrossX 5 Miles2 miles at racepace Rest orCrossX 3 miles RACEDAY!

What to get your family involved?   Have them join you for your 3 mile runs.   My youngest sometimes rides his bike as I run.  He only does this on my 3 mile runs.   Do you run with your family?  What training guide has been useful for you?

