DIY Sharpie Mugs

My youngest son making me a Sharpie Mug.

If you are new to the DIY Sharpie mug craze it really is very simple, take some Sharpies, a cheap mug, write on the mug and bake the mug for your own homemade personalized mug.   Now, after trying this craft with my boys, I wanted to share with you some tips I learned along the way.  Plus, if I can help you make a great mug first time around…great!

The boys mugs before baking

The boys mugs before baking

  • Get a ceramic mug.  This may sound easy but I think everyone over thinks this one.  Go to the Dollar Store and buy a mug for a dollar.  I promise these mugs work best!
  • You will need permanent markers.   Sharpies seem to work the best hence the Sharpie Mug 🙂  I also have found that some colors fade and change colors after baking.   Colors my boys and I found to work best: black, brown, blue, orange and yellow.  Red will fade to light pink or even a mustard yellow.  Green is not too bad but we really didn’t use a lot of green to get a true test of the color.  Purple turned grey!
  • Did you mess up? Did the marker run a bit? Use a Q-tip dipped in rubbing alcohol to clear the mistakes. Be careful not to let the alcohol run onto the other designs.
  • I recommend letting your mug dry completely after you have designed it.   I have found it bakes better.  I let our mugs dry over night.
  • Baking:  Well every website that posted this craft recommends baking at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.   This does not work.  Baking at 350 is not hot enough for the marker to take to the mug.  You need to bake at 425 for 30 minutes.   I put my mug right in the oven as the oven was preheating.  Plus, I let me mugs stay in the oven once they were done baking until completely cooled.  Otherwise, if you take your mug out when it’s piping hot, the mug could crack.
  • When the oven has cooled completely you can remove your mug. Test it by running a wet rag over it. Did the image stay? If not, it may need to go in for round two. If it did stay, awesome! The next test is the dishwasher. If it passes the dishwasher, congrats on your DIY Sharpie mug!
Sharpie mugs after baking

Sharpie mugs after baking

Now it’s time to go make a Sharpie Mug!  This is such a great gift idea for family members, friends and teachers.   I hope all these tips help you make the most perfect gift! Of course this craft also works great on plates and bowls too.

