My oldest reading :)

My oldest reading 🙂

Ever since I was a kid I have loved to read.   It was definitely my favorite subject as a kid in school.   I would breeze through books faster than my mom could buy them or check them out at the library.   We made a lot of trips to the library!   I think I developed my love of reading from my parents.   They too were always reading.  It was something we did as a family.   A couple of nights of week we would have quiet time and read.  No TV (before cable) and obviously no video games since Atari didn’t come out until I was almost in middle school 🙂

Now that I am a parent I wanted to do the same for my kids.   I want them to love to read.   So about five nights a week we turn the TV off and it’s off to mom and dads room to read.  I only ask for 15-20 minutes but I will be honest it usually turns into 30 minutes.   I really believe consistent daily reading will expose your kid to various author’s styles and will improve your kid’s fluency, vocabulary, comprehension, spelling and writing.  The main goal for me is that my kid will enjoy reading and choose to read for pleasure!

Two weeks ago we had back to school at my youngest sons school.  He is in the second grade this read and is a fabulous reader!  This teacher gave the parents this hand out and wanted to share:

Recipe for Reading:

Ingredients:

One or more loving parents

One eager child

Plenty of books, magazines, and newspaper

Mix: All ingredients in a quiet place

Add: A large measure of patience

Stir in: Lots of enthusiasm

Sprinkle: With laughter

Bake: 10-15 minutes a day

