Tuesday Cook Off ~ Chewy Granola Bars

Tuesday Cook Off ~ Chewy Granola Bars

It’s back to school in Arizona tomorrow.   We definitely start early here but the good thing we also get out earlier than the rest of the country.  My boys get out of school in mid May.  So with that being said, they definitely have had a long enough summer and are starting to fight a lot.   Which makes me crazy because it’s ALWAYS over something trivial like video games.

Which brings me to the subject of school lunches.   We all want our kids to eat healthy at school but I also like to give them a little treat too.  Hence, granola bars. With my oldest having the lactose problem and not being able to eat anything store bought that says, “may contain milk”, I did a lot of baking over the summer.    After falling in love with Pinterest and trying a few different recipes, I think I found a winner for chewy granola bars.  One thing I would like to add is both my boys love M & M’s in their granola.  Okay, so do I 🙂  I love that this recipe has oatmeal and flax seed in it too.  Plus, the Rice Krispies gives it that extra crunch.   I did use regular size M & M’s and I added about 1/3 cup of chocolate chips.  This recipe would be really easy to add the ingredients that you like too.   I think next time I will add raisins.

Chewy Granola Bars

Yields 16 bars

Ingredients:

 2 1/2 cups quick rolled oats

1/2 cup Rice Krispies

1/4 cup coconut
1/2 cup mini M & M candies
1/2 cup chopped peanuts
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 Tbsp ground flax
1/4 cup butter, softened
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup honey
1/2 tsp vanilla
1 egg
Directions: 
 Preheat oven to 350. Spray an 9 X 9 inch square pan with cooking spray
In a large bowl, add all ingredients and mix together until well combined.
Press into prepared pan. Bake 18 – 20 minutes, until golden brown.
Cool 5 minutes and then score into bars. Let it set completely and then cut into bars.
The nutritional info for each bar: calories per bar – 215, fat – 12, carbs – 24, protein – 6

Do you have a great recipe you would like to share?  Just email us at Linda@mybabypajamas.com.  Please attach a photo if you can.  If your recipe is chosen, you will win a $25.00 Gift Certificate to our website :)  Who doesn’t want free kids pajamas?  Please share this contest/giveaway!

Don’t forget where to find great footie pajamastoddler pajamas and more, at My Baby Pajamas.

