Tuesday Cook Off ~ Double Chocolate Muffins

Tuesday Cook Off ~ Double Chocolate Muffins

My oldest son Anthony just loves chocolate muffins.   Every time we are at the grocery store and they want something sweet like a donut or cookie, Anthony will ALWAYS pick a chocolate muffin.  He loves them!  If you would ask him what kind of dessert he would prefer, I know he would tell you a chocolate muffin.  Anthony is also the reason I started to bake so much.   We found out when Anthony was 7 that he was lactose intolerant.   Which means his body does not break down lactaid well and can cause stomach issues.  I will just leave it at stomach issues 🙂 But it’s not pretty.   So as he started to get older we started to notice that he could not have any store bought food that had the ingredient milk, lactaid or any form of these two items.  Well, that’s almost about every store bought sweet or dessert.  Hence, all the baking!  With any recipe that I bake, I will substitute milk with Lactaid Milk.  And since I started baking for Anthony his stomach issues have disappeared!  Yea!!

Anthony is the reason I discovered these awesome chocolate muffins.   He kept asking for me to make some but could not find a recipe that I liked and that I thought I could revise for him.  This one was a winner!  This recipe makes 12 to 14 muffins.  I made 13 from this recipe.   Plus, they were gone in about 3 days.  I did freeze 6 of the muffins thinking the kids could grab them, as they wanted them.   They freeze great and I would suggest taking out about 2 hours before you would want the muffin.

Double Chocolate Muffins:

Recipe yields about 12 to 14 muffins

Ingredients: 

1¾ C. all-purpose flour
1 C. sugar
½ C. unsweetened cocoa powder
¼ tsp. baking soda
2 tsp. baking powder
½ tsp. kosher salt
2 large eggs
1 C. milk
½ tsp. vanilla extract (or a ¼ tsp. peppermint extract)
½ C. butter, melted
½ C. mini chocolate chips

1. Preheat the oven to 350ºF. Place liners in muffin pan or coat pan with nonstick spray.

2. Combine flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder and salt in a large mixing bowl. In a separate bowl, whisk eggs, milk, vanilla and butter until combined. Combine wet and dry ingredients until just blended. Fold in chocolate chips.

3. Spoon batter into liners and bake for 18 to 20 minutes.

4. Let cool briefly in pan, then transfer to cooling rack.

Do you have a great recipe you would like to share?  Just email us at Linda@mybabypajamas.com.  Please attach a photo if you can.  If your recipe is chosen, you will win a $25.00 Gift Certificate to our website :)  Who doesn’t want free kids pajamas?  Please share this contest/giveaway!

Don’t forget where to find great footie pajamastoddler pajamas and more, at My Baby Pajamas.

