Brooks Ghost GTX Running Shoes

Brooks Ghost GTX Running Shoes

It is time for me to say good-bye to my first pair of Nike running shoes.   It has been a good run (no pun intended).   The last 6 months have been great and a big surprise for me.   See, normally I don’t run in Nike running shoes.  I am more of an Asics or Mizuno kind of girl but my Nike’s really stepped up to the plate for me.   We have run two half marathons and a couple of smaller races over the last 6 months.   My Nikes and I also had a PR in a half marathon at 1:46 with an 8:08 pace.   Not bad for a girl 44 years old.  But with all that said, I know when it’s time to say good-bye and it’s time.

So now that my Nike running shoes have become my new hiking shoes (all my old running shoes become my hiking shoes), do you what to know what new running shoes I bought?  Since I am an Asics or Mizuno kind of girl; yep, you guessed it…Brooks running shoes!  I know I was surprised too.  Sports Chalet was having a sale and my husband said I should go check it out for a new pair of running shoes and I fell in love with the Brooks Ghost GTX.    They are the Ghost 5 series with the Gore-TEX waterproof protection.   Now I know that Brooks already came out with the Ghost 6 but I bought these for 50% off!  Yes, I said 50% off.   I only paid $65.00 for Brooks Running shoes.   You have no idea how happy I am right now 🙂

I ran my first run in the Brooks Ghost shoes today.  I only ran 4.5 miles but I feel in love with my shoes.  Honestly, I really did love them.   Runner’s World has been rating the Brooks running shoes at the top for a while now.   I really should have listened to them earlier.  In the next couple months I will definitely be buying the Brooks Ghost 6 running shoes!

What is your favorite brand of running shoes?  Have you ever tried Brooks?

