Homemade Drain Solutions

Homemade Drain Solutions

Do you ever get a backed up drain in your sink?  Unfortunately, this seems to happen more than I would like with my sink.   My husband and I have double sinks in our bathroom.  In fact, so do our boys in their bathroom.  However, it seems my sink is the favorite sink in the house!  Everyone uses my sink to brush their teeth and do their hair.  So I don’t need to tell you how much hair gets stuck in my sink.   A LOT!

Since I was cleaning out my drain about very month, I decided to do some research on homemade drain solutions.   I have been lucky with finding homemade window cleaning solutions and homemade glass door cleaning solutions; I figured I had to be able to find a homemade drain solution that I could make with ingredients I had in my pantry.  Well, I was right!

Now this homemade drain solution will not unclog a nasty clog but it will take care of a normal clog in a drain.  Plus, the bonus is that almost everyone has the three ingredients in their house.

Ingredients:

Equal parts:

Salt, Vinegar, and Baking Soda

First, pour the cup of salt and the Baking Soda down the drain; let it sit a minute or two.   Then slowly pour the Vinegar-it should fizz.

Let it sit 20 minutes at least.  Then pour VERY hot water down the drain.  It should work itself out and if not then the plunger should come in handy.

I just used a 1/2 cup of the three ingredients and it was perfect.   It was not a clog but a very slow moving drain!!  Very slow!!

Good Luck!!

Do you have a great homemade cleaning recipe?  Please share!  I just love using homemade cleaning solutions for tough cleaning.

Ingredients for homemade drain solution

Ingredients for homemade drain solution

