Are your kids getting enough sleep?

Are your kids getting enough sleep?

It’s summer time and kids tend to stay up later.  Whether they are swimming at night or it’s sleep over’s; kids are staying up too late.    Does this sound like your house?  I am guilty here.   Now, my oldest is 13 years old and he definitely likes to sleep so I am not as worried about him.  I know he is getting the recommended hours for his age.  It’s my 7 year old that I worry about.   The later he goes to bed the earlier he gets up!  This happens with a lot of kids because they are over tired and not getting enough sleep.  Guilty in this house 🙂

Did you know the more rested a baby and/or child is the better and longer they sleep at night?  Crazy…I know!!   According to sleep experts, children are not getting enough shut eye.  As parents we need to make a conscience effort and make sure to stick with bedtime routines in the summer.  I know it’s hard…I am in your shoes too.

So what’s the current recommended amount of sleep time for children?

It varies based on age, but according to the National Sleep Foundation babies between the ages of 3 to 11 months need a total of 14 to 15 hours, while toddlers between 1 to 3 years old should get 12 to 14 hours. Preschoolers need 11 to 13 hours, and elementary schoolers should sleep between 10 to 11 hours. Older children and teens need a minimum of 8½ hours.

Are you kids getting the recommended amount of sleep?  Do you stick with bedtime routines in the summer?  I would love to hear your feedback!

Don’t forget that a good nights sleep goes hand and hand with awesome kids pajamas 🙂

