The American Baking Competition ReviewThe summer is here and the regular shows are off the air.   I have to be honest but I love some of the summer shows on TV and look forward to summer TV.   My favorite show is Big Brother on CBS and I am counting down the days for the premiere!  More on Big Brother coming soon 🙂

Anyway, I saw the ads for The American Baking Competition airing on CBS and since I have started baking more in the last 18 months (due to my sons allergies), I decided to watch.   So here is my review.

The show is built around the premise of gathering 10 amateur bakers and tasking them with tackling three recipes per week: A “signature” dish they make at home for friends and family; a “technical” bake in which they receive ingredients and vague instructions (would hate that)— then have to rely on their own baking know-how; and a “showstopper” — where presentation is important alongside flavor.

I didn’t feel the show displayed the food the bakers made long enough for us to look at and say, “That looks amazing and would love to taste it”.   There are 10 bakers and they each bake 3 recipes plus the show is only 60 minutes so that does not give enough time to display the food which is why I watched in the first place.

Each week someone will get kicked off the show and someone will be the Top Baker of the week.   Carlos, the Italian from Connecticut did not make the cut and was kicked off.  Francine, the southern girl, was probably one of my favorites on the show and she won Top Baker of the week.

Hopefully, as the show continues they will show more of the food that is baked and maybe we can get to know the bakers a little better too.  I would love to hear why they started cooking and baking.  Do they create their own recipes?  How often do they bake?  So many questions to be answered and hopefully the show will do that for us.

What did you think of the show and will you watch again?  Do you hope they show more food the bakers make?  Who was your favorite baker?  Until next week…Happy baking!

