Tuesday Cook Off ~ Avocado Salmon Cakes

Tuesday Cook Off ~ Avocado Salmon Cakes

As I was reading my March issue of Runner’s World magazine, I came across an awesome recipe.   At first I didn’t know if I would try it because it called for can pink salmon.   I usually like my salmon fresh.   Well, I was wrong!  This recipe was delicious.   Plus, it’s very easy to make with a lot of benefits.

Did you know that canned salmon is one of the richest sources of the omega 3 fast EPA and DHA.    These fats decrease heart-disease risk and improve bone strength, which may help runners (me) avoid stress fractures.  It’s also an excellent source of protein and vitamin D.

The Avocado Salmon Cakes are great as an appetizer or my husband and I love them as a light lunch on the weekend.  Whichever you choose, I promise if you like salmon you will not be disappointed.

Recipe from Runner’s World Magazine.

Yields 8 salmon cakes

Recipe:

Mix two 6-ounce cans pink salmon, 2 eggs, 1/2 cup bread crumbs, 1/3 cup milk, 1 shredded zucchini and 2 tsp. curry powder.  Stuff into 8 greased muffin cups.  Bake at 350 degrees for 25 minutes.  While the cakes are cooking prepare the avocado sauce.

In a food processor, puree 1 avocado, 1/2 cup plain yogurt, juice of 1 lime, 1 tsp. wasabi and 1/4 tsp. salt  Serve salmon cakes with avocado sauce.   Delicious!

Do you have a great recipe you would like to share?  Just email us at Linda@mybabypajamas.com.  Please attach a photo if you can.  If your recipe is chosen, you will win a $25.00 Gift Certificate to our website :)  Who doesn’t want free kids pajamas?  Please share this contest/giveaway!

Don’t forget where to find great footie pajamastoddler pajamas and more, at My Baby Pajamas.

