Tuesday Cook Off ~ Chocolate Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

Tuesday Cook Off ~ Chocolate Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

My family and I like bread.  Okay, we love bread.  It’s one of my guilty pleasures.   I would much rather have banana bread or cinnamon bread over say chocolate cake with icing.  Not much of an icing fan in this house.  My whole family scrapes off icing all the time.   In fact, sometimes I feel bad.  We will go to one of my sons friends birthday parties and you can tell the mom spent a lot for this special cake and my boys will either say no thank you to cake or scrape the icing in a pile on their plate.  Every time they do this, a mother will say to me, “The icing is the best part”.   Well, not to us.

Now that I have rambled on about icing and how we dislike it, I am totally off subject of this wonderful bread.   When I found this recipe I just had to try it because mixing chocolate, chocolate chips and bananas in bread…what could be better!  This recipe calls for sour cream that I think just makes this bread that much better.   It is so rich and moist; I promise you will love it 🙂

Here is the recipe:

Yields: 1 Loaf

Ingredients
  • 1 stick of salted butter, softened to room temp.
  • ½ cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 large ripened bananas mashed ( or 2.5 small bananas)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1 cup flour
  • 1 tsp. baking soda
  • 2 Tbl. cocoa powder
  • ½ cup of sour cream
  • 1 cup of mini chocolate chips (regular chocolate chips work too)
  • optional ½ cup of chopped walnut.
Instructions
  1. Preheat over to 350 degrees.
  2. Lightly grease a 9×5 loaf pan, or 2 mini pans with non-stick spray.
  3. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together. Stir in egg, mashed bananas, sour cream, and vanilla until well blended.
  4. Add baking soda, cocoa, and flour.
  5. Mix everything until well incorporated (about 3 minutes in a Kitchenaid mixer).
  6. Add chocolate chips and nuts (if applicable).
  7. Pour batter into loaf pan(s) and bake for 50 minutes – 1 hr.
  8. Insert a tooth pick into the center of the loaf and check to see if it comes out clean when you pull it out.
  9. Remove from heat and allow bread to rest in the loaf pan for 10 minutes.
  10. Invert the loaf pans onto a cooling rack. Enjoy warm or cold.

Recipe from: savorysweetlife.com

Do you have a great recipe you would like to share?  Just email us at Linda@mybabypajamas.com.  Please attach a photo if you can.  If your recipe is chosen, you will win a $25.00 Gift Certificate to our website :)  Who doesn’t want free kids pajamas?  Please share this contest/giveaway!

Don’t forget where to find great footie pajamastoddler pajamas and more, at My Baby Pajamas.

