Boston Marathon 2013 Tragedy

Boston Marathon 2013 Tragedy

It’s April 15 and about 11:55 PST.   I am sitting at my computer getting ready to finalize my blog post on my running shoes and hit publish.  Yes, I know it’s eerie to me too.   But instead of hitting publish, I decide to step away from the computer and turn the TV on.   I was suffering from a terrible sinus headache and the computer screen was making it worse.   I just wanted to take a break.   As I turn the TV on, I am frozen at the horrible news I hear.  The Boston Marathon finish line was bombed!   My first thoughts are my running friends.   One in particular, Wendy, she is a huge marathon runner and I wonder if she is there and okay.   But I then remember she had posted on Facebook earlier that morning that she was not running but wished everyone good luck.    I go through my list of running friends and I am relived to say no one I know was there.

The next three hours I am glued to the news.   It seems so surreal to me because I have crossed many of finish lines.   Time on the race clock reads 4:09:44; if I was running I could have just crossed.   Chills run through my blood.   I am actually going to be sick.   My husband is texting me making sure to keep me positive.   Of course I am telling him I am backing out of the Chicago Half in September.  Too big a city, it’s our hometown.    But as I am thinking of backing out of the race, I am memorized by the news coverage and the images of the bomb explosions; people actually running towards the blast to help, not away.  At this moment I realize in this whole big world we live in there is more good than evil.   The evil only makes up a very small percentage of this earth.   We, the good, out number the evil and I am proud of this!  Each time the evil, horrible people try to bring down the good, the good comes together and we become stronger and united.  Unfortunately, the world today seems to have a lot of evil but we are working on this problem I hope.     About the Chicago race, I decided I was not going to let fear win.  If fear wins, then the evil people win.

My Baby Pajamas thoughts are with everyone affected by this tragedy.   Just as the runners were about to experience one of their best moments in life, the evil turns it into the worst.  Our thoughts and prayers are with Boston.

#prayforboston

#prayforboston

I found this posted on my 13 year old sons Instagram feed after the tragedy.   What do you say to your kids?  How do you explain the evil in this world to them?   Any suggestions?

