White Jacket Required by Jenna Weber

White Jacket Required by Jenna Weber

I was walking through the public local library with my seven-year-old son the other day.   We were there to pick out new books for him to read for his AR (Accelerated Reader) log.   As we finished picking out his new books I decided to go browse the new release section.   I love to read and have always been an avid reader but let’s face it; I really don’t have the time anymore, which makes me kind of sad.   Anyway, as I was looking quickly at the new releases this book just jumped out at me, White Jacket Required, it had a picture of a woman with a chef’s jacket on.  I did a quick read of the inside of the book jacket and decided to get it…what the hell, right?

With all that said, I didn’t know what to expect when I picked it up.   By the end of the first chapter (maybe before) I was hooked!   White Jacket Required is a true story of a girl named Jenna who is fresh out of college with a bachelor’s degree in English and Creative Writing and no job.  Since Jenna always wanted to write about food she decided to go to culinary school but not to become a chef but to write about her passion…food.   The story takes you through Jenna’s application process, culinary school and the year after.   The inside look that Jenna gives to the readers about culinary school had me in stitches.   She goes into great detail to describe her highs and lows during Basic Skills I to ending her culinary experience in Capstone with Papa Claws (you will have to read the book, but I just loved this part).

The book also takes you on a journey through Jenna’s friendships, a long distance romance, a family tragedy and the new life Jenna has created.   I believe that the book ends with a couple of cliff hangers (Adam) but just maybe there will be a second book?

Jenna is also the author of the popular food blog: Eat, Live, Run.  If you enjoy cooking and baking, I promise you will love this book!  It’s a fast read and Jenna also shares recipes throughout the book.  I can’t wait to make the Creamy Tomato Soup.

Interested in reading the book? Stop by Jenna Weber’s blog Eat, Live, Run to order the book.   I did not accept money or monetary goods to write this review.  I wrote this review because I truly loved the book and wanted to share it with you.

Don’t forget to read to your kids everyday…especially cuddled up in some comfy kid pajamas 🙂

