Tuesday Cook Off ~ Cheese and Chicken Stuffed Shells

Tuesday Cook Off ~ Cheese and Chicken Stuffed Shells

Welcome to My Baby Pajamas Tuesday Cook Off!  This week I am featuring Cheese and Chicken Stuffed Shells.   It really is such a simple recipe and not that time consuming for stuffing shells.  In fact, my husband helped me with this dish and we had a great time making it together 🙂  It could have been the wine we were drinking while we were cooking but nevertheless we had fun!

For the sauce, I used my homemade sauce I make and freeze.   I usually make a big batch and then freeze for recipes like this one.   I will share my sauce recipe in an upcoming post.   It’s not a family recipe at all because my mom still hasn’t shared it with me !!  She says it’s not written down it’s all in her head.  Anyway, I hope to get my hands on that recipe soon.   I think using a homemade sauce just adds to the recipe.

Here is the recipe:

12 jumbo pasta shells
1 1/2 c pasta sauce
2 large egg whites, gently beaten
1 1/2 c part skim ricotta cheese
4 oz. chicken, cooked and diced
1 c frozen spinach (chopped) thawed (drain all excess water)

2 tsp garlic powder
1 tbsp oregano
1 tbsp chopped basil
3/4 c part-skim mozzarella cheese, shredded
1/3 c grated parmesan cheese

Preheat oven to 350
Cook shells in boiling water according to the directions on box.
Rinse with cold water and set aside for later use.

Lightly spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray and spread 1/2 c of pasta sauce evenly over the bottom of the pan. Set aside.

For filling: Stir together egg whites, ricotta, chicken, spinach, garlic powder, basil, and seasoning. Stir in 1/4 c of mozzarella cheese and parmesan cheese.

Fill each shell with mixture and place filled shells in the baking dish on top of the sauce. Spread remaining sauce on top. Sprinkle with remaining cheese and salt and pepper to taste. Bake for 30 minutes.

Recipe adapted from Cheesy Chicken Shells via weightwatchers.com.   9 WW points for 3 shells

Do you have a great recipe you would like to share?  Just email us at Linda@mybabypajamas.com.  Please attach a photo if you can.  If your recipe is chosen, you will win a $25.00 Gift Certificate to our website :)  Who doesn’t want free kids pajamas?  Please share this contest/giveaway!

Don’t forget to where to find great footie pajamastoddler pajamas and more, My Baby Pajamas :)

Cheese and Chicken Stuffed Shells

Full Tray of Cheese and Chicken Stuffed Shells!

