Do parents always lead by example?  Probably not, but we really should.  If parents are going to talk the talk then we really should walk the walk with our kids.  Actually, this holds true with anything.  Our kids look up to us and as they get older they are watching our every move, trust me on this one.

Today is a perfect example of leading by example:  I am an avid runner and have a race coming up in about 3 week.  Today I needed to run 6 miles for training.  This morning when I took the kids to school, I said out loud to my oldest,” When you both get home, you need to watch your brother while I go run.”  Okay, this was my mistake!  Guess what?  I didn’t feel like running today at A-L-L!  Yesterday, I thought I would help my body out and decided to do power yoga to stretch my muscles from running.   Bad idea.  I woke up swore.  I thought it would get better as I went to work and started to move around.  It didn’t.   All I wanted to do was put my Esme pajamas on, bathe my younger son and put his favorite boys pajamas on and watch TV.   This was not going to happen.  My oldest had a basketball game and my husband was going to the hockey game.  Damn!

Now fast forward to me sitting on the computer checking my emails.   My oldest comes in and asks me when I am going to go run.  Ugh!  I don’t feel like running at A-L-L.   And as I am about to tell him this, I stop and think about his basketball game tonight.   I know my husband and I will tell him to play hard and hustle.  If I tell him I am not going to run, I know he will say something to me about training for the race and playing sports blah blah blah!!  Yes, this is what teenagers do; throw everything back in your face 🙂  So I say to him, I am getting ready to go now.

Shoes are laced up and I am heading out the door, still not wanting to run at A-L-L.   But as my feet start to hit the pavement and I get into my groove…nothing.   I still really don’t want to run.  We all have our days:)  But I did the 6 miles.  Probably the worst 6 miles I have done but I did them and it felt good just to finish.

Now, it’s time to go to my son’s basketball game.   Guess what?  He’s dragging his feet to get ready.   He’s tired blah, blah, blah.   Good thing I went and ran because now I can use this as an example that sometimes we don’t feel like doing something but we suck it up and just do it.   Well, it wasn’t the best game of my son’s life but he went and played and played hard.   They lost in overtime by 1 point and they were heartbroken.  But they all played hard and did their best.  You can’t win them all:)

Parenting 101-leading by example

