As parents, we are always trying to teach our kids something new and how to survive in this life.   Because if there is one thing we know as parents, life is tough and doesn’t always turn out the way we plan.  But as I teach my kids right from wrong, I decided to take a step back and I realized my kids teach me things everyday.   Here are the top 8 things my kids taught me lately.

  1. That NOBODY knows EVERYTHING about EVERYTHING.  (My kids tell me this all the time, do you think they are talking about me 🙂 ).
  2. That it’s okay to be wrong as that’s how we learn.
  3. That there is no such thing as being too polite. You can never say please, thank-you or excuse me too often.  Adults seem to forget this in our busy everyday lives.
  4. That a smile is the simplest thing you can do to truly brighten the day of someone else.  Nothing is sweeter than your child looking up at you and smiling for no reason at all!  Try it on a complete stranger today.
  5. You can be happy if you choose to be happy.  Simple, but sometimes very hard to do in real life.  Choose to be happy in the moment.
  6. Having breakfast food for dinner is okay and I must admit, sometimes just easier.
  7. That life is a journey not a sprint.   Sit back and enjoy the ride!
  8. Having a pajama day at home and watching movies is great family time!

What have you learned from your kids lately?

