I have something to confess to you all-I LOVE SLEEP AND SO DO MY KIDS!  Plus, my friends used to call me General, Sergeant, Sleep Nazi etc. I think you get the idea.  This all started when I gave birth to my oldest son (who is now 10 years old and can still sleep a 12 hour night).   My husband and I wanted our children to sleep and to learn to sleep in their own beds.  That’s not too much to ask, right?

Rewind to 1999: I was pregnant for the first time and did not want to give up my sleep. Selfish??   Some will say yes and some will say no.  Everyone is entitled to their own opinion.  My opinion was, I wanted my child to sleep.  Everything I read said that children that were good sleepers were smarter, less sick and a happier child.  I started to read books about teaching a child to sleep.   I read many!!  Some of the ones that I read and re-read were “The No Cry Sleep Solutions” by Elizabeth Pantley, “Secrets of the Baby Whisperer” by Tracy Hogg , “Sleeping Through the Night, Revised Edition : How Infants, Toddlers and Their Parents Can Get a Good Night’s Sleep” by Jodi Mindell PhD and finally “Baby Wise” By Gary Ezzo.  After reading many books, I decided to take things I liked out of all the books and make my own recipe for sleep.   Plus, I wanted something that would work for our family. The main thing I learned: Routine, Routine, Routine!!

Routine was the foundation for teaching my kids to sleep.  They woke up at the same time everyday, had a feeding schedule during the day, napped at the same time and went to bed at the same time everyday.  Rain or shine!  Our bedtime routine was the same every night: bath, pj’s and then book.   This bedtime routine is still a constant factor in my 4 1/2 years old day.  With this bedtime routine is where I fell in love with pajamas( but I will talk about that in another post).

Teaching your baby (kids) to sleep is definitely a controversial subject.  There is no right or wrong answer, it’s what works best for your family that is important.   My Baby Pajamas Blog will be starting weekly sleep tips for babies, toddlers, and kids.  We would love to hear from you and what works or worked for your family.

My Baby Pajamas believes every child deserves a good night sleep(with of course some comfy pajamas from mybabypajamas.com).

Sleep Tight…Sleep Stylish!


Bookmark and Share

